Item Welcome to the NHS Business Services Authority Knowledge Base, the place to ask us anything you need to know

Document What are the different types of NHS dental contracts?

General Dental Services (GDS) contract

It's necessary to meet the reasonable needs of its patients. This would exclude services provided for cosmetic, rather than health reasons - circumstances under which a treatment is necessary.

Personal Dental Services (PDS) contract

Contracts are for specialist services such as sedation, domiciliary and generally have a time limit (they normally last for 5 years and are reviewed afterwards).

Trust Based Contracts

Whereby the Commissioner (Area Team / Local Health Board) make payments, not the NHS Dental Services and these are usually emergency dental practices.

PDS Plus

PDS Plus is a newer type of contract that was a Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) initiative to increase patient access to NHS dentistry. The main differences to the contract are that they include Key Performance Indicators (KPI’s) and that there's a newer payment mechanism.


Need more help?

If this doesn't answer your question please contact us directly or search again. Search Again

Rate this answer