Item Welcome to the NHS Business Services Authority Knowledge Base, the place to ask us anything you need to know

Document What are the categories that are classed as being exempt from NHS prescription charges?

  • A – Under 16.
  • B – 16, 17 or 18 in full time education.
  • C – aged 60 years or over.
  • D – has a valid Maternity exemption certificate.
  • E – has a valid Medical exemption certificate.
  • F – has a valid Prescription Prepayment Certificate.
  • G - has a valid War Pension exemption certificate.
  • L – is named on a valid HC2 certificate.
  • X – has been prescribed free-of-charge contraceptives.
  • H – Gets Income Support or Employment and Support Allowance (Income based) (ESA (IB)).
  • K – Gets Job Seekers Allowance (Income based (JSA IB)).
  • M – is named on, or is entitled to a Tax Credit exemption certificate.
  • S - Gets Pension Credit Guarantee Credit (PCGC).
If a patient receives a qualifying element Universal Credit (UC), they can tick box K until a new version of the FP10 is available.

See also...

Need more help?

If this doesn't answer your question please contact us directly or search again. Search Again

Rate this answer