Template Details

Document recently updated What are the categories that are classed as being exempt from NHS prescription charges?

The categories on the current FP10 prescription, in use from February 2020, are:
  • A - is 60 years of age or over or is under 16 years of age
  • B - is 16, 17 or 18 and in full time education
  • D - Maternity exemption certificate
  • E - Medical exemption certificate
  • F - Prescription pre-payment certificate
  • G - Prescription exemption certificate issued by Ministry of Defence
  • L - HC2 (full help) certificate
  • H - Income support or Income-related Employment and Support Allowance
  • K - Income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance
  • M - Tax Credit exemption certificate
  • S - Pension Credit Guarantee Credit (including partners)
  • U - Universal Credit and meets the criteria. Find out more at www.nhsbsa.nhs.uk/UC

The categories on the previous FP10 prescription, in use before February 2020, are:
  • A – Under 16.
  • B – 16, 17 or 18 in full time education.
  • C – Aged 60 years or over.
  • D – Has a valid Maternity exemption certificate.
  • E – Has a valid Medical exemption certificate.
  • F – Has a valid Prescription Prepayment Certificate.
  • G - Has a valid War Pension exemption certificate.
  • L – Is named on a valid HC2 certificate.
  • X – Has been prescribed free-of-charge contraceptives.
  • H – *Gets Income Support or Employment and Support Allowance (Income based) (ESA (IB)).
  • K – *Gets Job Seekers Allowance (Income based (JSA IB)).
  • M – *Is named on, or is entitled to a Tax Credit exemption certificate.
  • S - *Gets Pension Credit Guarantee Credit (PCGC).
*person completing the declaration should enter the name, date of birth and  NI number of the person who gets the benefit.
If a patient receives a qualifying element Universal Credit (UC), they can tick box K if using the previous version of the FP10.

See also...

Contact Us

If this document does not fit your needs, you can contact us. Contact Us